My first week in Câmara de Lobos. – What caught me surprised and who made me feel special.

If someone would have told me few months ago that I would participate in the EVS project in Madeira Islands, I wouldn’t have believed it.  At last, this is what is happening for real!

I came to Funchal, a capital city Portugal’s Madeira archipelago, for the very first time on the 3rd of June. I have been picked up from the Cristiano Ronaldo International Airport, by José Antonio, the main initiator of the program of which I became an official participant. Nevertheless, let me leave the elaborative description of the project for another blog post.

Câmara de Lobos, town in the south-central coast of the island of Madeira, is the place where I’m spending following six months and it couldn’t be more

3

Picture: Fishing boats in Câmara de Lobos

supercalifragilisticexpialidocious. It is not for nothing that I’m using here the longest word I know that is a synonym for extraordinarily good. I’m, beyond the shadow of a doubt, believing that if paradise be on earth it is Câmara de Lobos, Madeira Islands.

Câmara de Lobos although a small fishing town, it has, indeed, attracted one of the greatest people on planet Earth to spend their time-offs trips. Winston Churchill got so much under the spell of this place that he even equalized its glorious beauty to the royal splendour of Marie Antoinette. No wonder that, Câmara de Lobos is still called by many Brits (who, as presented in statistics make up of 40% of all visiting this place tourists) a Churchill’s village.

Józef Piłsudski, the main creator of the Second Polish Republic, the national hero of Poland and an important figure in European politics also was a famous visitor to the islands. For those who doubt whether Madeirans still remember this prominent guest would be surprised with the bust of the Polish saviour located close to the main square of the capital city.

19181710_1438404396217956_473018736_o

Picture: The bust of Marshal Piłsudski at Rua António José de Almeida, Funchal

19205005_1438404156217980_1031526420_o

Picture: (From the left to right); Me, Kate, Isabel, Maria (Kate’s bestie from Macedonia), Justina, Pedro

Although learning about this place history and the chronicle of famous visitors made me understand Madeira. What made my first week truly special were in fact people I met. Great thanks to Justina Simonaitytė and Kate Popovska, also EVS participants who along with their absolutely fabulous Portuguese friends, sibling Isabel and Pedro Abreu showed me around this heavenly island. Thanks to their hospitality and welcoming attitude I feel as if I were among old pals.

Author: Dariusz Sirko

Leave a Reply

